Sorry I’m late…

Whoops! Time flies, and I’m overdue for my usual mid-month “Miscellaneous” post. Hey, even us B- types get a bit busy sometimes and get lost in what we’re doing. Sheesh! Stuff like crocheting, celebrating birthdays and Father’s Day, going out to meet up with a few friends (once in a Blue Moon, everyone I know calls me at once), and the inevitable activity as you get older, doctor and dental appointments. UGH!!

Another thing is, as usual, I’m struggling to think of things to write about, so here’s just a quick summary of what I’ve been up to:

Crocheting:

Finished a vintage 70s vest for my mom, similar to this picture.

It actually turned out pretty good and she’s happy with it, so I’m happy. It was just a simple DC, chain3, etc., then on the next row, DC in the ch3 space, ch3, etc. It was fun to do, and went fairly quickly.

I’m now making granny squares with cotton thread to make another lacy top, this one for myself. I’m using a different motif for this one, though and I’ll post it on here in a few months (or years) when I’m done. I don’t know if my dear daughter is even wearing the one I made for her as she travels the world.. oh, well…

Top4Blog
This is the top I made for my daughter; I’m using a different motif this time.

Podcasts:

One of my favorite things to do is listen to interesting (to me, anyway) podcasts while I’m crocheting. I listen to Meb Faber’s, Personality Hacker, Cracked, With Friends Like These, and Anxiety USA.

Guitar:

I’m going thru some online guitar lessons, and find that the recommended half-hour of practice isn’t enough. I usually do all the exercises, then goof around for another half hour on what I want to goof off with. An awesome discovery I’ve made is guitar tabs. Here’s a sample of “Killing Me Softly” that I found on ultimateguitar.com. So much easier than trying to read music and figure out where the notes are, which string to play them on, etc. I was never introduced to this back in the 60s when I first started at age 12, and I love this! I’m working on one for “Sittin’ on the Dock of the Bay” by Otis Redding, one of my all-time faves. I’ll post it when I’m done.Guitars

*************************
If you’ve made it to the end, thank you so much for hanging in there. It’s hard to find real-life folks that are even interested in the same things I am.

‘Til later,
B-

Leave a Reply

