Guitar – Reviving an old hobby

It’s been too many years since these two have seen the light of day.

Believe it or not, I used to play classical guitar.  I gave it up about 30+ years ago.  That’s a long time to put something down and take it up again.

Why did i do it?  Well, classical guitar is a lonely road, since you’re playing by yourself.  It requires hours of practice, and at least for me, it seemed to take a lot of energy for very little reward.  I had other priorities in life, like raising a family, finding/doing a job that was tolerable that would allow me to retire, etc.  These were more rewarding.

Now that I’m retired, I have more time on my hands, and I can start from scratch and re-learn some basics, and put just as much effort into it as I want.  I can go into rock, folk, blues, jazz, whatever I want.  I remember most of the basic chords, but the old hands and fingers need lots of work to sound halfway decent.

So, please excuse me while I go slaughter Bob Marley’s “Three Little Birds”, and gradually work up to Etta James’ “I’d Rather Go Blind”.  Cheers, all!

 

Leave a Reply

