Sunday, July 31 — Stay in!

Well, folks… I did a big clutz thing a couple of days ago, and I’m nursing a broken foot and sprained ankle.  So, my mind has been on getting to doctors, and making appointments, and wondering how the heck I’ll keep fit during recovery.  I’ll post more on that later.

For now, though it’s time to look at our investments and figure out whether to stay in or sell.  If you’re following the Meb Faber Timing Model, it’s mostly “stay in” except for DBC — those commodities ticked down a notch, according to the charts I use, so it’s time to sell that.  EFA shows the price line right ON the 10 month moving average line, and a negative MACD, so I decided to remain on the sideline and see what happens next month.  Here’s the chart for the basic 5 ETFs:

BASIC  And, for the rest of the ETFs I invest in and follow, here are their charts.  These are all “stay in” as well:

ALL

If you enhance your commodities ETF (DBC) with Gold and Oil (GLD, USO), like I do, I’m hanging on to GLD, and staying away from USO.

GLD-USO

Well, that’s it for this month, folks… Oh, I have to add, it was a big month for dividends, so those stocks I chose a way back have been doing very well.  Even though Meb Faber is not a big fan of using dividends alone to find stocks to invest in, I think that if there is a dip in the market, and you choose a few Dividend Aristocrats, you’ll do OK over time.  I might suggest to Meb how can we find value among Dividend Aristocrats without spending too much time searching?  Just a thought…

Happy investing, everyone!

Leave a Reply

